Ticking….

It was dusk.  I was standing in the midst of what appeared to be a  football field.  There were old style bleachers on all sides, and the field seemed to be a thousand miles long.  I stood for a moment pondering the purpose of being there, as there was no team on the field, and all was still.   In a few minutes time the stadium began to fill up with clusters of people.  I could see people from all walks of life in groupings, and it was clear that each grouping of people shared common interests.  What also stood out was a wildness.  Each grouping seemed to be partying, some doing drugs, others being promiscuous, others being violent. 

All of a sudden my eyes were directed to the sky, the moon was not only full, but amazingly large.  I stared for a minute and in that moment, it was as if the noise of the people fell away.  I watched intrigued as the moon started to become engulfed in a thick red blanket.  In that second I knew in my heart that the Lord was coming back, no sooner did the thought bubble up in my heart then did my attention become directed back to the field.  The crowds were still in sight, yet they appeared farther back and it was then that I seen HIM.  I could not make out His face, I could only see His siloutte, His sandled feet and his robe.  He was the light on the field.  He raised His arms, motioning to the crowds that surrounded us, each oblivious to the hour, and He said one sentence, “The time is short”.  The longing in His voice, the compassion and the urgency to which he spoke at this I felt my heart sink.  I woke up and my spirit was so grieved.  It was only a moment it was only a minute, and it was as if I finally understood the great mercy and heart Jesus feels for those who are far from Him.  Time is short, and we can all see that looking around us.  It is no secret, it is as if everything around us is crying out for us to pay attention to the events that are happening.  Believers and non believers alike can see that great uncertainty in the world is all about us.

After having this dream I immediately thought of the scripture in Acts: “‘In the last days, God says, I will pour out my Spirit on all people. Your sons and daughters will prophesy, your young men will see visions, your old men will dream dreams. Even on my servants, both men and women, I will pour out my Spirit in those days, and they will prophesy. I will show wonders in the heaven above and signs on the earth below, blood and fire and billows of smoke. The sun will be turned to darkness and the moon to blood before the coming of the great and glorious day of the Lord. And everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.”  Acts 2:22

I have replayed this dream over and over again in my mind and in my heart. One thing that stands out to me is that the Lord was not pointing a condemning finger at these people, he was grieved that they were so far from Him. 

” For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him” (John 3:17).

I could feel the weight and the overwhelming love that he had for the people and the urgency to which he proclaimed, “time is short”.  I can hear the longing in His voice, the heartbreak of a Savior who wants only His creation to acknowledge Him, to call on His name so that they can escape the judgement that will come upon the Earth.  Everytime I replay the dream in my mind, everytime I think about it my heart literally aches.  There are so many people, so many even in my own family who not only don’t believe but who have completely hardened their hearts against Him.  When the name of Jesus is mentioned, they laugh, they mock, they talk about the foolishness of such a belief.  They question whether or not He will ever return. 

“Most importantly, I want to remind you that in the last days scoffers will come, mocking the truth and following their own desires. They will say, “What happened to the promise that Jesus is coming again? From before the times of our ancestors, everything has remained the same since the world was first created.” They deliberately forget that God made the heavens by the word of his command, and he brought the earth out from the water and surrounded it with water. Then he used the water to destroy the ancient world with a mighty flood. And by the same word, the present heavens and earth have been stored up for fire. They are being kept for the day of judgment, when ungodly people will be destroyed”  (2 Peter 3:4-7).

But you must not forget this one thing, dear friends: A day is like a thousand years to the Lord, and a thousand years is like a day. The Lord isn’t really being slow about his promise, as some people think. No, he is being patient for your sake. He does not want anyone to be destroyed, but wants everyone to repent. (2 Peter 3:8-9).

We have to remember that we were all at one point in disbelief, unbelief, mocking, scorning, laughing, thinking the whole thing might be a bit ridiculous…..That is until we felt the Lord knocking at our hearts door. 

“Behold! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me. To him who overcomes, I will give the right to sit with me on my throne, just as I overcame and sat down with my Father on his throne. (Revelation 3:20-21).

I ran from God, when problems came I blamed the “so called God” who I did not even “believe existed” yet instinctively cried out to. 

It is until we sense the Holy Spirit confirming the truth to us, until we realized in a moment that we cannot rely soley on ourselves, there is someone bigger, greater than we are, someone who fits the missing piece to the eternal puzzle, the only one who could possibly fill the gap the world endeavors to counterfeit.  In this moment, when we let our guards down, when we are still, when we know that we want to know and understand the truth…..he shows up.  He confirms what all of our instincts already tell us.

“For what can be known about God is plain to them, because God has shown it to them. For ever since the world was created, people have seen the earth and sky. Through everything God made, they can clearly see his invisible qualities–his eternal power and divine nature. So they have no excuse for not knowing God. For although they knew God, they did not honor him as God or give thanks to him, but they became futile in their thinking, and their foolish hearts were darkened  (Romans 1:19)”.

I was once a complete and utter fool.  I once raced through life without much thought or consideration for eternal things.  Moments would come where I would be alone and know that there was something I needed to settle, something concerning my very soul, and yet I was so convinced that I had all of the time in the world to sort it out.  The truth of the matter was, I did not know how much time I really had.  There is only one person who does. GOD. 

I would like to take a moment to interject that God in His love and mercy towards me, sent people through my path from a very early age to speak His words to me, to invite me to know Him, to tell of the great love that awaited me if I would only accept Jesus as my savior.  Please know that these friends in my path, I dismissed immediately.  I refused to believe and I ultimately thought they were foolish.  It is to those people, all the way down the line, that I owe my very life.  My real life, the life that was hidden in Christ.  The life that I could only see when the blinders came off. 

2 Corinthians 4:4 says, ” Satan, who is the god of this world, has blinded the minds of those who don’t believe. They are unable to see the glorious light of the Good News. They don’t understand this message about the glory of Christ, who is the exact likeness of God.”

I was decieved…all along I was deceived. 

Thank God for His mercy, His patience, those he sends in our paths to tell of His Love…..His wonderful, unchanging, unfailing, paying our debt, delivering our souls kind of Love. 

Perfect.  Complete.  Consuming.

It only took one prayer.  No one could twist my arm, no one could force me to say it.  I was ready to say it, I knew in my heart there is only one unending love, only one hope of salvation, only one real moment of truth.   JESUS. 

This was my prayer…..

Father God, I know that I cannot go through this life like this anymore.  I know I have sinned, I have made mistakes, I have even laughed, mocked, and dismissed the thought of you.  I no longer want to run, Lord.  I sense in my own heart that time is short, and I want to be certain of my eternal fate.  Jesus, thank you for knocking at my hearts door, thank you for offering up your life to pay a ransom for mine.  Thank you for paying my debt of sin and for saving me, I receive you now as my Lord and Savior.  From this moment on I will follow you! Thank you for loving me, delivering me and setting me free.

In Jesus’ Name,

AMEN

Praise him if you said this prayer, because your name is now written in the Lambs book of life and Jesus says in Revelation 3:5 “All who are victorious will be clothed in white. I will never erase their names from the Book of Life, but I will announce before my Father and his angels that they are mine”.

Thank you for taking the time to read this.  I was in church today and heard a powerful sermon about the time being short…I felt the need to share this dream with others.

One thought on “Ticking….

Leave a Reply

