Lift Us Up From Every Fall….

 

 

 

Man has fallen since the beginning of time.  In ages and stages past man was introduced early and of his own accord to falling short of God’s very best.  Through the missed obedience’s, through the wrong choices of this life, everyone has experienced what it means to fall.  Sometimes the fall is intentional, sometimes we see the hole up ahead and we convince ourselves that it is neither a hole nor an accident awaiting us, it instead is a small divot in the road… something by which we enter into with the foolish confidence that proves itself only when we are dusting off our pants and hoisting ourselves back to our feet.  

 

If in the moments we fall we make the declaration to stay awhile in the dirt, having want to take account of every particle and speck and asking in the process who will feel pity for us for having fallen, we are likely to stay there until a dark cloud comes to deliver torrential rains….and then what once was dirt and dust  has morphed into a thick and debilitating mud.  This mud would like nothing more than to grip us tightly, cementing our feet into the low spots until we no longer know how to even begin the task of cleaning ourselves off.

 

How many times have I been there?  Too many to count.  How many times have we all been there? I am almost certain that we all have old worn out clothing that can tell the story of such a hastily traveled path, the times when we veered too far to the left or right and  stumbled upon a deep pit…. It is sin in the pit, sin that wants to hold us down and keep us from our confidence that God loves us and wants more for us.

 

When we fall we must do our bests to realize what has happened and bring it before the Lord.  It is not as if we are telling Him something He has no knowledge of.  We must trust that when we approach the Lord as His children to confess our sins and seek forgiveness, He is merciful….Psalm 86:5 declares “You, O Lord, are good and forgiving, full of mercy toward everyone who calls out to you.”

 

 More so, I believe if Jesus were to come to us along such a diverted pathway he would extend His gracious hand and tell us to get up quickly, confess what we have done wrong, and get back onto the path that leads to life.  I imagine that He might also make mention  of the dangers in turning back to see that still muddy hole.  The apostle Paul said it best when he said, “…but I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead” (Philippians 3:13)  That is, I believe because sin and it’s effects are detrimental.   If we continue to dwell on sins of the past, we are still stuck in the mud.  We cannot move forward, or continue on in the fullness of the forgiveness that is ours when we confess our sins.

 

 “Therefore since we are surrounded by such a huge cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.” (Hebrews 12:1)

 

 I preach these things to myself because I need to hear them and be able to focus on walking circumspect before the Lord.  The more time spent in His Word, the more we can see the imperfections and sin in our lives.  We have to be able to see that no one is exempt from having their struggles with sin.  “If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us” 1 John 1:8 .  We cannot possibly get through the challenges and obstacles of navigating our morally decaying world without the gracious help of our Savior.  It is this same Savior who came down off of His royal throne to be like us so that we might be made more and more in His image.  It is the hope of life eternal and it is in faith in Jesus that we can rest in knowing thatIn him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, in accordance with the riches of God’s grace.”  Ephesians 1:7   He payed a high price to absolve us of our sins, we must always remind ourselves of that powerful truth!

 

No fall concerning sin can have the last say because redemption came to pull us up and out of every muddy trench.  He lifted me out of the pit of despair, out of the mud and the mire. He set my feet on solid ground and steadied me as I walked along. Psalm 40:2

 

Prayer for the falls of life:

 

Father God, I come boldly to your throne of grace by the power of the blood of my Savior Jesus, so that I can confess my sin to you.  Lord, I am standing in need of forgiveness today.  I admit that life can be difficult and that I have veered off the path at times, which has landed me in a pit.  Father, please forgive me of my sins.  I know that I can trust you, and I know that whenever I fall, you are faithful to forgive me if I confess my sins to you.  Thank you Lord that you say in your Word that when we confess these sins to You, You remember them no more.  Thank you for pulling me out of the mud and mire.  Now help me Lord, I pray, to forget that muddy hole behind me and keep pressing on towards what you desire for me in this life. I surrender my will to you and pray that you would continue to help me stay steady in this race.  I know my feet are on solid ground when I trust in you and follow after you with all my heart.  In Jesus’ precious name, Amen.

 

 

 

One thought on “Lift Us Up From Every Fall….

Leave a Reply

