What are you thinking?!


What are you thinking about lately?  I have been dealing with thoughts that have caused me untold stress.  When I surrender and dwell on these thoughts, I become trapped.  Have you been there?

Can I propose the enemy of our souls wages war within us in subtle, seemingly harmless ways? Sometimes he begins with a simple thought and we think it is harmless …Although we can’t always control what pops up in our mind, we can choose what we do with them once they are there.  We can act on them or dismiss them and move on.  In what ways do our thoughts dictate our moods, our hopes, and our reality?

Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ..”2 Cor. 10:5

We have an active role to play in guarding our minds from thoughts that are outside the realm of God.  God is love and light, purity and hope….these are the thoughts we are told to occupy our time with.

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things. Philippians 4:8  

Certain repeat thoughts can cause untold worries an undue stress.  If we think on things continuously that we deem to be a big problem, we begin to see that problem grow and thrive as if it has come to life.  Pretty soon the problem is all we see.  I have a dear friend, Sharon, who has always said “don’t focus on the problem, focus on the solution.”  Wise words indeed.  What good can come out of magnifying our worries, especially issues that we can not in our own strength or ability change?  None….

Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.  Matthew 6:34 (Jesus Speaking)

Dear friends, can I submit to you that not only is it useless to worry, it is a big deal to God.  He wants us to rest fully in Him.  The trust we have in His goodness has to trump the circumstances that threaten us throughout life.  HELLO!!!! I am preaching to myself here!!!!  

I came across this interesting scripture that surely I have read before, and yet it popped off the page.  Jesus is speaking about His return and He gives a warning that many Christians do not take seriously (including myself at times).

“Watch out! Don’t let your hearts be dulled by carousing and drunkenness, and by the worries of this life. Don’t let that day catch you unaware…”   -Luke 21:34

Could it be that the cares and worries of this short life endanger us by dulling our spiritual senses?   Perhaps these distractions are carefully designed to erode our stability and confidence in our Creator?

I want to shake those things that are weighing me down, and I know that it is not going to be easy if I try to do it myself.  Thus, I will depend fully on HIM!!!  A dear person in my life recently stated that I am a worrier.  I did not realize that at times my behavior says that about me.  I don’t want to possess that trait, my Lord did not possess that trait…and He wants us to be like Him! 

He came to set the captives free, free completely!  I want us to walk in that amazing freedom and in doing so, we can free up our lives to focus our energies on those things that are pressing in the Kingdom, and we can be a brighter light for those around us!  Join me in fasting worry FOREVER!!!!

 ~Shalom~ and Love in Christ….

 -Brandi

 

Leave a Reply

