Dark Night Shine

Darkness closed in around my car as I raced down the highway in the cloak of morning.  I was in a patch of  road that was so dark, my headlights scarcely broke through the heaviness of it, and I thought about how frightening things can seem when darkness closes in and your light can only illuminate what is directly ahead of you.  Even still, in the shroud of darkness, I could not escape the fact that moments later the sun would crest over the horizon and break up everything that seemed to monopolize the world in that moment.  I was in a place on that road that I was sure that if I had an accident or hit a deer, no one would find me….for hours.  It was so still, so lifeless, that the only certainty was that there was no where to go but forward and through…eventually night would give way to a radiant sun that would eclipse every ounce of darkness and would feed life into everything round about me.  The light was there all along, I was just yet to see it.

That is how God is, really.  Sometimes you drive down a road and you have the sense that you are not alone, you know He is with you, even if He is not announcing Himself in a booming thunder.  You take His hand and He whispers to you…I have given you life, I have lit the light within you….Go forward.  You may be feeling your way through the darkness, but as long as you don’t turn aside, you will stay on the road. Do not be afraid of what you see, for you know in due time, the Son will arise and shed such enormous light on your path that you will be able to see clearly what He has been doing all along. For His mighty hand is great and He holds you securely in it…. Even on the windy roads, even on the darker roads where things are not yet clear.  Gaze steadily to the horizon and right into the eyes of the Son.

“For God, who said, “Let there be light in the darkness,” has made this light shine in our hearts so we could know the glory of God that is seen in the face of Jesus Christ.”  2 Cor. 4:6

Leave a Reply

