Come Out From Among Them….Halloween

Image

 

Music flowed out ahead of the people who trailed behind as the service ended.  The halls filled with the echo of conversation, as people poured down the walkways and to their respective destinations. This particular Sunday landed on the city-wide celebration of Halloween.  I moved along with the flow of pedestrian traffic and found myself directly behind a mixture of people talking excitedly about their upcoming plans for the day.  Their excitement billowed over in their voices and their conversation drifted to my hearing a few steps behind.  They were discussing in great detail how they planned to celebrate Halloween.

 My Spirit was grieved.

Several minutes prior, we were all mingled together to worship and hear the Word of the Lord.  How was it then that complacency waxed strong the moment we crossed the threshold out of the sanctuary?  And yet, I understood how it could happen because I had just arrived to a new conclusion on the matter myself.

It is possible to hold two opinions when you are not genuinely interested in the truth.

That year when I began to see Halloween decorations and costumes flaunted and pushed in every marketplace, I started a quest.  This quest was not in order to justify the traditions of my youth, but rather to find out what God really thought of it all.  You must realize that I had always celebrated Halloween.  I had never met anyone who hadn’t. I was very new to the true Word of God, and to honoring Him.

This particular year, I had decided I was unsatisfied and wanted to know and understand the Lord more… so I had been seeking His will on things that I had never seriously considered before.  Naturally I wanted to know about this “holiday”.  So, I simply and humbly asked the Lord one afternoon while I had been seeking to find the answer, “Lord, what do you think about this, is it alright to celebrate Halloween?” 

Immediately, the Lord answered and said, “Come out from them, and separate yourselves from them, says the Lord.  Don’t touch their filthy things and I will welcome you.  And I will be your Father , and you will be my sons and daughters says the Lord Almighty.”   That verse is actually found in 2 Cor. 6:17-18.

I immediately gathered the things in our house that represented Halloween and tossed it all out.  Books, DVD’s, lots of decorations, hundreds of dollars worth of stuff….. And I haven’t looked back. 

Allow me to say that I had been assuming for years that Halloween was nothing more than a time to dress children up in costumes and allow them to get candy, and while it is obvious that witches, goblins, demonic looking creatures and fear and evil abound on this day, I reasoned that I was surely not a part of that side of it.   After all,  we just do princess and bumblebee costumes….harmless, right? But we must pose the question, “What fellowship has light with darkness?”  2 Cor. 6:14

And yet…if we dare to consider the unseen world…. Is GOD Glorified in it? Or is it a field day for the enemy…. The answer is obvious.

The Lord shared His heart about even the mere appearance of evil things in His word.

Abstain from all appearance of evil.”  ~1 Thessalonians 5:22

 May I suggest that when a person has made up their mind that they want to do something because that is just what they want, they will find a means in which to justify it and will vehemently reject the truth…. That was me early on…and where many Christians are today. 

However, when you come to a place where God’s opinion is worth more than man’s opinion, and you are willing to do His will whether you are mocked, rejected, or counted as ridiculous….God’s truth will shine right through all of the self-centeredness of life and will cut you to the quick. 

Can I recommend to you, that when you are searching for answers, you will only come to God’s conclusion if you are willing to accept whatever He tells you in His Word…. 

“You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart.”  Jeremiah 29:13

If God, the one who is supreme over all,  releases wisdom and makes it clear in His Word…how can we who love Him reject His word in order to please our own desires?  We must choose whom we serve- the world and the one who is of the world, or the one and only true God and Savior the Lord Jesus Christ….

“But if you are unwilling to serve the Lord, then choose today whom you will serve….Would you prefer the gods our ancestors served beyond the Euphrates?  Or will it be the gods of the Amorites in whose land you now live?  But as for me and my family, we will serve the Lord.”  ~Joshua 24:15

